IEEE CEDA’s Award & Recognition Program

The IEEE Council on EDA (CEDA) actively recognizes the scientific activities of the members of the EDA community by sponsoring or co-sponsoring numerous awards in the field. The honors recognize a wide range of contributions, including individuals who have had demonstrable impact on the field of electronic design, individuals who have made substantial technical contributions to EDA in the early stages of her or his career, contributors whose impact is recognized over a significant period of time, outstanding publications, and volunteers with outstanding service to the benefit and advancement of CEDA.

Phil Kaufman Award for Distinguished Contributions to EDA

The Phil Kaufman Award is jointly sponsored by the ESD-Alliance and the IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation and honors an individual who has had a demonstrable impact on the field of electronic design through contributions in Electronic Design Automation (EDA). The award was established as a tribute to Phil Kaufman, the late industry pioneer who turned innovative technologies into commercial businesses that have benefited electronic designers. Additional information can be found on the ESD-Alliance website.

    More details 🡪

    A. Richard Newton Technical Impact Award in Electronic Design Automation

    To honor a person or persons for an outstanding technical contribution within the scope of electronic design automation, as evidenced by a paper published at least ten years before the presentation of the award.

    More details 🡪

    IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design Donald O. Pederson Best Paper Award

    To recognize the best paper published in the IEEE Transactions on Computer-Aided Design of Integrated Circuits and Systems.

    More details 🡪

    IEEE CEDA Ernest S. Kuh Early Career Award

    To recognize an individual who has made substantial contributions to the area of Electronic Design Automation in the early stages of his or her career.

    More details 🡪

    William J. McCalla ICCAD Best Paper Award

    To recognize the best paper presented at the International Conference on Computer-Aided Design (ICCAD).

    More details 🡪

    IEEE CEDA Distinguished Service Award

    To recognize an individual who has provided outstanding service to the IEEE Council that has had a significant benefit to the EDA community. All contributors to CEDA can make nominations.

    More details 🡪

    Outstanding Service Recognition

    CEDA's Outstanding Service Recognition is presented to volunteers for exceptional commitment and service to the EDA community.

    More details 🡪

    Click here to view the awards presented at DAC2017 in Austin

    IEEE Fellows


    • Yiran Chen, Duke University, for contributions to spintronic memory
    • Zhuo Li, Cadence Design Systems, Inc., for contribution to physical synthesis and modeling of integrated circuits
    • Hidetoshi Onodera, Kyoto University, for contributions to variation-aware design and analysis of integrated circuits
    • Tajana Rosing, University of California, San Diego, for contributions to power and reliability management of systems-on-chip 
    • Sanjit A. Seshia, University of California, Berkeley, for contributions to formal methods for inductive synthesis and algorithmic verification
    • Mark M. Tehranipoor, University of Florida, for contribution to integrated circuits security and trust
    • Jürgen Teich, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen, for contribution to hardware/software co-design for embedded systems


    • Walden C. Rhines, Mentor Graphics Corporation, for leadership and technology innovation in integrated circuit design and automation 
    • Kiyoung Choi, Seoul National University, for contribution to low-power, real-time, and reconfigurable systems
    • Xin Li, Duke University/Duke Kunshan Univ., for contributions to modeling, analysis, and optimization of variability of integrated circuits and systems 
    • Weiping Shi, Texas A&M University, for contributions to modeling and design of VLSI interconnects 
    • Youngsoo Shin, KAIST, Korea, for contributions to design tools for low power, high-speed VLSI circuits and systems
    • Valeria Bertacco, University of Michigan, for contribution to computer-aided verification and reliable system design
    • Luca Carloni, Columbia University, for contributions to system-on-chip design automation and latency-insensitive design
    • Frank Liu, IBM Research, for contributions to design for manufacturability of VLSI circuits
    • Andrei Vladimirescu, Berkeley Wireless Research Center, for contributions to the development and commercial adoption of SPICE circuit simulation


    • David Atienza, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, for contributions to design methods and tools for multiprocessor systems-on-chip
    • Xiaobo Sharon Hu, University of Notre Dame, for contributions to resource management for embedded systems
    • Jiang Hu, Texas A&M University, for contributions to gate, interconnect, and clock network optimization in VLSI circuits
    • Peng Li, Texas A&M University, for contributions to the analysis and modeling of integrated circuits and systems


    • Jörg Henkel, for contributions to hardware/software codesign of embedded computing systems
    • Steven P. Levitan, for contributions to mixed-technology micro-systems education
    • Diana Marculescu, for contributions to design and optimization of energy-aware computing systems
    • Michael Orshansky, for contributions to VLSI design for manufacturability
    • Yuan Xie, for contributions to design automation and architecture of three-dimensional integrated circuits
    • Jason Baumgartner, for contributions to formal hardware verification and its application


    • Helmut Graeb, for contributions to design centering and structural analysis of analog circuits
    • Zhigang (David) Pan, for contributions to design for manufacturability in integrated circuits
    • Mircea Stan, for contributions to power- and temperature-aware design of VLSI circuits 
      and systems
    • Martin Vlach, for  leadership  in  analog  and  mixed-signal hardware description 
      languages and their simulation tools  


    More details 🡪